I have some great Disney news!

September 19, 2013

The college I go to has a Disney club. I signed up freshman year beyond excited to share my love of Disney with others. I got an email about the first meeting they were going to have a week or so later. The topic of discussion: why the princesses are a bad influence on young girls. Immediately I knew this was not the club I wanted it to be. As many have you read in a previous blog post of mine about the Disney princesses, I think they’re great role models for everyone. In fact, it’s my most viewed post, so a lot of people know. I took myself off the email list and vowed never to go to a Lesley University Disney club meeting again. But then, something happened….

Last year, the two presidents of the Disney club graduated, leaving two spots open. The third member of the executive board was elected president of another club and left the Disney club all together. Long story short, there was no executive board, therefore no Disney club. However, with the amount of people who are signed up for the club, my school didn’t want to just let the club go. They needed an executive board and people were sent out to find the perfect candidates. My friend is the president of the student body and immediately asked me if I would be interested. Naturally, I said, “of course!” and I set up a meeting with the advisor of the club. Long story short (again) I am the new co-president of the Disney club! I can’t even contain my excitement. I have so many ideas I can’t wait to put into action. Our first meeting is on Thursday and it really just can’t come soon enough.

The best part of this whole story is what my mom said when I told her… She sent me this text: “Whose the leader of the club that’s made for you and me? Jasmine!” It was so perfect.

So thank you for reading this! I’ll try to keep you updated on what we do with this club. If you have any suggestions, I’d love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

