Pixar Movie Challenge: Toy Story

September 25, 2013

Toy-Story-poster

Toy Story, 1995.

I’m pretty sure I’ve said this before, but I used to watch this movie every weekend. We have about four VHS copies of it because my brother and I used to watch it so much. So, I have a bias. But honestly, this is really just such a great movie. I honestly can’t think of a part I don’t like about it.

Well, I guess the only problem I have with it is how choppy the animation is. But honestly, that doesn’t even bother me because it is the first full length computer animated movie. But for being the first of its kind, I have to say that it really is well done. If you watch it close enough, you can tell that a lot more care went into the characters rather than the set, which was a smart thing to do. Characters stick forever, backgrounds always don’t.

If you’ll remember, I care a lot about character development in movies. All the characters inĀ Toy Story are so well rounded and we learn so much about them in such a small amount of time. The story really develops well over time too. It moves fast, but in a way that we still get to know the characters fully. There were very few plot holes, and the ones I noticed weren’t a huge deal.

So overall, I loveĀ Toy Story. It’s incredibly funny, the story is wonderful, and the characters are so well rounded. I’m so glad there are two more!

Leave a Reply

